Dieting can be good for your writing.

I started dieting in May of last year. I suffer from migraines and there is an increased risk of early onset diabetes from the medication I take. My Doctor’s told me a few times to lose weight and I finally accepted that it was time to do as I was told.

The doughnuts had to go. So did the fatty diet. I did eat a lot of fried food and full fat EVERYTHING.

I’ve tried counting calories and done the Atkins diet a few times, but after early weight loss I always put it back on. For this diet I was determined to lose weight and keep it off. The prospect, however small, of diabetes was a good carrot to dangle.

I saw an advert on television for the new Pro Points plan from Weight Watchers. I downloaded the iPhone App, signed up and was off. Any diet that lets you eat a Curly Wurly a day (only 3 points!) had to get my vote.

A Cadbury Curly Wurly candy bar, shown split i...

A Cadbury Curly Wurly candy bar, shown split in half. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve changed my dietary habits for the better. I eat a lot less fat and a lot more fruit and vegetables so that’s got be a good thing. I even manage to exercise! A brisk thirty minute walk in my lunch-break when I can have some time to think about my latest stories.

I reached my target weight by November. Two and a half  stone (35 pounds) lighter and a lot healthier. A leaner, meaner me!

How has this helped my writing?

I set a goal and achieved it.

I will focus on the positive. I can set other goals and achieve them too. I WILL finish writing my book. The editing is making slow, but steady progress and I am over 60% of the way through it now.

I WILL keep writing and I achieved one of my goals when the Steel City Writers published a FREE anthology: Just Get It Out There in March. You can download a copy via Smashwords.

I WILL spend more time reading. More goals will follow.

This is just the start. Dieting has been good for my life and my writing.

Thanks for reading our A to Z Challenge post for the letter D.

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, e-book, Just Get It Out There, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dieting can be good for your writing.

  1. robincoyle says:

    Diet is an ugly word. But congrats on your weight loss!

  2. It’s probably not just the losing weight in itself that has helped you, but switching to a healthier diet is probably giving you more energy and motivation anyway. Your curly wurly reminded me of a friend who is always dieting, she calculated once that if she was on a strict 1000 calories a day diet, she could eat 5 Cadbury’s Creme eggs, at 175 calories each, and still have 125 calories left to play with! Hopefully she wasn’t intending to do that on a daily basis, hehe.

  3. wightrabbit says:

    Well done on your achievements , Pete! In the past, I tried many diets – WW was the most successful for me too. (Unfortunately, I did become a little obsessed and threw my scales away, on the advice of a consultant – so I’ve had no idea what I weigh for the last 15+ years! But it has remained constant). Your decision to treat yourself with care, instead of calories is a significant step towards taking control of other areas of your life and you will succeed in those too. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Jacqueline. I do feel that this diet has become a way of life rather than just something to do for a couple of months before heading back to bacon double cheese burgers 😀

  4. Pingback: Buisness Is Good! « Pull A Heartstring

Leave a Reply

