e-book: The Apology

When I first heard that Amazon were bringing out an e-reader I thought: why are they bothering? It’ll never catch on.

People like the feel of a book, they like the smell and texture of a brand new book fresh out of the box. There is something about bending the spine back and flicking through the pages. It’s yours and you can do what you want with it.

Could you really have the same reading experience with a gadget? Really?

When I joined the social networking world back in September last year, I was slowly re-educated. Twitter and the blogosphere was full of people who were embracing the e-book revolution.

I’ve *met* so many people who’ve either published an e-book or who are in the process of publishing their e-book. Everywhere I clicked there was more positivity and I have to say it gave me a lift.

I even bought a Kindle.

And then published an e-book with the Steel City Writers: Just Get It Out There (see how seamlessly I plugged the book?)

So I want to take this opportunity to admit that I was wrong. The e-reader has changed the game completely and is here to stay. I’m reading more e-books than paper books and I find the Kindle easier to hold – what can I say, I’m getting old and the Kindle is a lot easier to hold than a 600+ page David Baldacci thriller 🙂

Where are you on the e-book revolution?

Thanks for your time and if you’re reading this blog on your e-reader, bless you!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, e-book, Just Get It Out There, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to e-book: The Apology

  1. robincoyle says:

    I was a self-proclaimed “book snob” and thought I would never hold a “fake” book. EVER! Then my husband gave me a Kindle and now I am hooked. The best part is having it when traveling. No need to carry around 4 books while on vacation. I have dozens on my Kindle.

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Robin. I was a book snob too. 🙂

      My wife does point out that a couple of days after we bought a new bookcase I ordered a Kindle! I still buy the odd paper book, but ratio is about 3-1 in e-books’ favour. The holiday is the perfect example. My suitcase will be a LOT lighter now!

  2. Hi,
    I did congratulate you on becoming a Kindle reader. I am reading your blog on my iPad that also has the Kindle app. I love both. Like most toys, they are different. We must go with the flow. Just had to drive a car without a key! Dinosaurs, we have joined you.

  3. Pete Denton says:

    I LOVE technology. I’m surprised I was reluctant, but fully on board now 🙂

  4. I have an android phone and just downloaded Kindle app – screen is small but still great access to books whilst waiting for trains or if unexpectedly stuck somewhere. NOTHING will make me get rid of my books though, I love them, they make me feel clever all sat there proud of the fact that I honoured their pages with my presence!

  5. wightrabbit says:

    For me, Pete, it’s not a case of ‘either/or’ but more of ‘horses for courses’: paperbacks don’t hold the page open, so you can’t read while eating with a knife and fork, washing up etc. – like you can with hard-backs. I recently downloaded kindle for iPad – and ‘Just Get It Out There’ (seamless plug!) I find it clear and easy to read now I’ve set the background and the print size. Because it’s backlit I can read in bed without the light on but not in the bath and there are reflections on the screen outside. So, on those occasions I read a ‘real’ book. E-book publishing seems a lot easier than the traditional route, though – so as writers we have to embrace the future! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Read a book twice? « Pete Denton – Writer

Leave a Reply

