Flash Fiction

I hadn’t heard of flash fiction until about a year ago though I don’t get out much.

I didn’t know that there was a growing movement towards this short style of writing. When you study creative writing, the number of exercises that start with: ‘In 300 words write a story about …’ you get a lot of practice writing really short stories.

For our FREE e-book – Just Get It Out There (see I did it again, shameless!) we set ourselves a challenge of writing a 500 word short story. Four of them made it into our book and I think we all had a great time writing them.

Flash fiction doesn’t leave you with space for superfluous words. You have to tighten your writing and get to the point, which has to be a good thing.

Writing in this style helps longer pieces as well. When editing I find myself cutting, cutting and then cutting some more. If you don’t need the word in flash fiction then why do you need it in a longer story? You don’t.

I was reading through the May 2012 edition of the Writers’ Forum magazine and there was an article on the first National Flash-Fiction Day, which is 16 May 2012. There is a website at http://www.nationalflashfictionday.co.uk/ and competition for entries of between 150 and 500 words.

The closing date is 10th April so you don’t have much time and you have to be a resident of the UK to enter. The winners will be included in an anthology.

The site also has details of flash fiction writers, some outlets and magazines for your stories and some events happening around the country. If you write flash fiction I recommend checking it out.

Thanks for reading and happy writing!

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge, e-book, Just Get It Out There, Writing, Writing advice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Flash Fiction

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Reblogged this on Pete Denton – Writer and commented:

    I’ve just posted this to the Steel City Writers blog, but any UK based Writers might be interested in this piece on Flash Fiction.

  2. Flash fiction is like the perfect blend of prose and poetic wording, and it teaches writers to make each word and phrase to count.

  3. rtd14 says:

    I have read some great flash fiction writers. I have not written any, but I did challenge myself to write shorter, more concise stories that dig straight to the point. One of thsoe was published. I think you are right. Flash fiction, 300 words or less, is an excellent challenge for a writer to pinpoint the focus of his or her story.

  4. Calum Kerr says:

    Thanks for the plug, Pete.
    Do feel free to get involved on the day. There are loads of competitions on our site, including events happening in Leeds and Hartlepool if you can get to them. Or, if you fancy, it’s not too late to set something up yourselves.
    If you need any help, advice or anything else feel free to get in touch with my at nationalflashfictionday@gmail.com.
    Thanks, Calum Kerr – Director of National Flash-Fiction Day 2012.

  5. Kind of reminds me of writing training in a way, I remember being set exercises which we’d probably call ‘flash fiction’ today. But it’s all good.

    Matthew Wright
    http://mjwrightnz.wordpress.com
    http://www.matthewwright.net

  6. Spider42 says:

    Just finished a short story and did an under 500 word short last week which I would have entered, but sadly I don’t reside in the UK. 😦
    Ah well…

Leave a Reply

