What do you want from a writing group?

Today we had another meeting of the Steel City Writers.

I’ve had a few discussions about writing groups recently. Some have had positive experiences and loved them. Others have struggled to cope with the rigid rules set out in their group and hated the experience and left.

Let me tell you about our group. We don’t bring along our work, read it out and let the others critique it. When we put together our e-book we did post our Flash Fiction on to our forum and offered our opinions on the stories. At the meetings, we don’t do bring our work.

We are more the type to get together and talk about writing. We are their to help each other, to encourage each other and try to make sure each of us is able to find what we want from our writing.

Each writing group gets to decide what they want from the meetings. What is good for us is not necessarily good for every group. Some might think that there is no point to meeting and not bringing some work to critique. That is the beauty of being part of a group. You get to decide what you want to do.

I think if we did bring our work to the meetings I wouldn’t want to go to them. It’s not that I don’t want the others to read my work or offer advice on my writing. That’s not what I want to get out of the meetings.

After today, I feel inspired to write again. I’ve written for the first time in a couple of weeks. I’ve downloaded a couple of books that we talked about and I had the idea for short story collection.

I scribbled a number of thoughts down in my notebook and I’m ready for the month ahead. That’s what I want from a writing group. I get that in spades every time we meet.

Find what works for you and go for it.

What helps pick you up when your writing life is down?

About Pete Denton

I'm a writer working my way through the redrafts of a British crime novel. I also write short stories, flash fiction and some screen writing. Check out my blog for more.
This entry was posted in Writing, Writing advice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What do you want from a writing group?

  1. Nicola says:

    Hey guys! Thanks for recommending my post on writing groups.

  2. Got to agree, inspired I am!!

  3. I’ve definitely been inspired. It’s always good to meet up and I wish I could meet more often. I went away from the last meeting (after too short a time) wanting to write and writing. I’m now a bit behind on my work. Oh well.

    It’s funny you mention about bringing along our writing. I wondered about whether to bring pieces along – but I think you’re right. We can not only do that any time, electronically, but it also could make our meetings a bit dry. I like the fact that none of us have to give an immediate response to anyone else’s work.

    But then we have an advantage. We have known each other before and have already gone through the critiquing each other’s work – which worked well by distance learning.

    I think we also all have different writing aims and/or genres, which allows us to feel we each have our own area of interest. I’m not planning to write any horror at the moment…

    So – I cast my small vote in favour of continuing as we have. But if anyone wants to bring along work, or preferably post it beforehand, then I’m also happy with that. I definitely would want to support anyone else’s work.

    Best wishes to everyone and keep on writing…

    Andy

    • Pete Denton says:

      Thanks, Andy. I think we can still critique each others work. Maybe when we start planning the next book we can do that again. Glad you feel inspired to write. I know our get togethers always have a positive effect on me.

  4. Pingback: A Writing Critique Group Proposal « jessicaschaubbooks

  5. Pingback: Writing groups: What can you gain from them? | Kathryn Spurgeon

  6. Pingback: Writing Groups, Part 2: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Leave a Reply

